Award Categories


  • Innovation, Imagination and Ambition
  • Evidence of a clear strategy for the project / policy, clearly communicated to staff and other stakeholders
  • Evidence of good management
  • Value for money
  • Supporting evidence that the project / policy has made a difference to services.
  • Evidence it has achieved or is well on the way to achieving what it set out to do
  • If you are making different entries under several different categories, please indicate this and complete an entry for each.
  • Each application needs to specifically address the criteria for each individual category.
  • The same project can be entered in different categories but a separate submission must be sent for each one, geared towards the category it is entered into.
  • Public sector organisations can still enter multiple submissions for the same category with different projects, should they so choose.
  • Entries are scored using the published criteria for each category in addition to the general criteria.

The Categories
Enter Your Nominations

Below are the main Smarter Working Live award categories, comprising of 10 awards which your organisation or team can submit entries to. Before submitting your entry, ensure you have read the criteria listed under each award.

View the category-specific criteria for each award by clicking the 'Read more' button.

Extended deadline for entries is Friday 9th December 2022

Improving Spaces - Creating A Great Place to Work

Future Focused and Sustainable Property

Digital Transformation - Enabling New Ways of Working

Automation, Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning

Harnessing the Value of Data

Small-scale, Big Impact

Building Collaborative Communities

Putting People First

Championing Continuous Improvement

Outstanding Smarter Working Leadership

Special Recognition
The Judges Choice

Below are the Special Recognition Awards. The Special Recognition Awards are different from the awards mentioned above, with one main distinction: your organisation or team cannot submit an entry to be considered for the Special Recognition awards – they can only be nominated by our expert judges.

For your entry to the main award categories to be considered for the Special Recognition awards, before submitting we recommend that you review the criteria which the judges will use to assess entries. This will increase your chances of making the Special Recognition Awards shortlist.

Special Recognition

Beyond Smarter Working